Happy 7 Months Malachi! (A Little Late Again)

How is it possible that my little boy is already 7 months old? I ask myself on the daily basis this very question….after waiting so long for him, I just cannot believe how quickly the time has gone since his birth.  He’s no longer this tiny, well he was never tiny, totally dependent baby.  He’s a very sturdy, stubborn, pseudo-independent, wanna-be toddler.

Malachi, you are such a joy to Daddy and me.  You are so much fun and watching you develop and grow has been such a wonderful privilege for us to be a part of.  It slowly breaks my heart to see you fighting so hard for independence, but I know this is a part of growing up…though I will always resent it.  Just this month alone you have changed so much and learned new tricks!  Precious boy, I love you!  Happy 7 months birthday (May 12).

You’ve been up to a lot lately!

~You are crawling….I cannot believe it!  Now, you’re EVERYWHERE and into EVERYTHING!

This is the best picture I could get of your crawling, but I do have you in action on video!

~You FINALLY cut your first tooth.  I’m already sort of missing your gummy grin…that tooth means you’re growing up and I haven’t decided if I like it yet.

It’s on the bottom left (you’ll have to look past the drool)

~You’ve started pulling up on everything and have the bruises to prove it.  Daddy even had to lower the crib TWICE so you wouldn’t keep trying to kamakaze over the edge.

~You are a total water baby…you love the pool and the beach.  Mommy and Daddy just got you a baby pool so you can splash around at the house and you love it!

~You really like checking out what is going on around you. You’re interested in everything. I think that’s why you like our walks so much.

~You are a BUSY BOY!  Now that you are mobile you are easily bored so we have to switch out your toys and give you new scenery to look at or you are not a happy camper.

~You are very strong-willed and Mommy and Daddy have had to start disciplining you when you insist on playing in Charlotte’s food and water bowls or chewing on the computer cords.  You don’t like it, but you’re learning the word NO and that is a good thing.

~We think you may be left-handed, so it will be interesting to see if that holds true.

~You outgrew your baby tub, so you are now slipping and sliding and splashing in the “big boy” tub.  You love all the extra space to play with your turtles…except when they get out of reach, that’s a little problematic.

~Your Bella and Papa came to stay with you while Mommy and Daddy went to Savannah for their 5 year wedding anniversary…you had the best time!

Monthly Highlights:

~You weigh 22 pounds!

~You’re 29 inches tall.

~ You are wearing size 3 diapers

~ You are now wearing all kinds of clothing sizes.  You wear predominantly 9 month onesies,  9 month sleepers (as long as there are no feet), and 12 month shorts.

~You are wearing size 9-12 month (size 4) sandals for those BIG feet, but you’re barefoot most of the time.

~ You are on all formula bottles.  You do drink about 2-4 oz. of water a day as well (in lieu of juice).

~You’re eating oatmeal, rice cereal, apples, pears, bananas, sweet potatoes, green beans, peas, butternut squash, and avocados.  I’ll probably try you out on carrots, peaches, zucchini and potatoes soon.  Your favorite foods are sweet potatoes, bananas and apples.  (I am picking up on a theme of a sweet tooth).

Sweet boy, you are such a fantastic challenge.  Parenting has been the hardest job I have ever had, but you make it so worth the energy and effort.  Each day I pray that the Lord would grow you into a sweet, strong boy that loves Him so much…and each day I see you blossoming, growing and becoming this prayer.  Mommy and Daddy love you, Malachi!

About sarahhweber

I am blessed to live in a beautiful place, to be married to an amazing man, to be mother to a precious son, to be the child of the Savior of the world. So thankful for my life... View all posts by sarahhweber

Leave a comment